24.6 C
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Home Cricket 5 Indian players who have been inducted into the ICC Hall of...

5 Indian players who have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame

Along with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Association, the International Cricket Council launched the concept of the ICC Hall of Fame in 2009 with the intention of recognizing and applauding the feats of the cricketing legends.

In 2009, 55 players were included in the ICC Hall of Fame and henceforth, the ICC inducts a new member every year.

While 28 players from England have received this honor, Australia have 25 cricketers inducted in the Hall of Fame. With 5 players from India, the country is fourth in the list of most players who have received the commemorative cap. Here is the list of the Indian players who have been enrolled in the ICC Hall of Fame honor.


Sunil Gavaskar

The player was the first Indian player who was bestowed with the prestigious honor, getting his Hall of Fame cap from Kapil Dev in 2009.

The Little Master was one of the greatest Test batsmen in his era, creating and breaking many records. He was not only the first player to score 10,000 Test runs but also ended his career with the most Test hundreds then – 34.

Gavaskar was the first player in the planet to score a hundred in both the innings of a Test match three times and the ICC honored him for his achievements.


Bishan Singh Bedi

The former slow left-arm orthodox bowler played for India from 1966 to 1979 and scalped 266 wickets in 67 matches.

The ICC included him in the Hall of Fame in 2009, and he received his cap from West Indian Courtney Walsh. Bedi not only stood out for his easy action and the nonchalance with which he controlled his line and rhythm but also for flighting the ball, which made him a real threat to the opposition.


Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev needs no introduction in Indian cricket, for the image of him holding the 1983 Prudential Cup inspired a whole generation of cricketers, who then took to the sport with the aim of emulating the all-rounder.

The ICC recognized his stupendous brilliance with both bat and ball – he scored 5248 runs in 131 Test matches at an average of 31.05 and picked up 434 wickets, including 23 5-wicket hauls at an average of 29.64 – and he thus became the third Indian to receive the honor.

Dev was also named as the Indian Cricketer of the Century by Wisden in 2002.


Anil Kumble

The leg-spinner scripted many memorable records in his career. He is best known for dismissing all 10 batsmen in a Test innings at Feroz Shah Kotla, which made him only the second bowler in the world after Jim Laker to have achieved the feat. He was not a big turner of the ball but was successful in picking up 619 Test wickets with his variable bounce and pace.

The Bengaluru player got the honor in 2015 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. He had also been adjudged the Cricketer of the Year in 1993.

Rahul Dravid

The latest entrant on the list, Rahul Dravid was unanimously called “The Wall” for his ability to stonewall and tire out the rivals. He received his ICC Hall of Fame cap from Sunil Gavaskar during the fifth and final ODI between India and West Indies at Thiruvananthapuram.

The number 3 player in Tests scored 24,208 runs for India across all formats, including 48 hundred and 146 fifties. He has also been awarded the Player of the Year and the Test Player of the Year award in 2004 by the ICC.

In 2000, Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack named him as one of the five best cricketers of the year.


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉

Must Read

India In New Zealand – Areas of Concern

After the successful triumph down under Team India are set to take on the Kiwis in New Zealand. India will be facing New Zealand...

5 of the Best Moments From an Eventful Weekend of European Football

European football was once again at its unpredictable best this weekend. Having enjoyed some really exciting clashes, nail-biting finales, and plenty of great goals...

Premier League 2018-19 : Week 23 Round Up | Liverpool still four points clear at the top

Round 23 of English Premier League 2018-19 provided all the stuff to excite and amaze the football fans all around the globe. The English...

Chandrasekhar Began His Journey

Bhagwat Chandrasekhar was a key part of the legendary Indian spin quartet from the 60’s and 70’s. The man, also known as ‘Chandra’ was...

‘I’ve had Three Job Offers and I don’t Park the Bus’ – Jose Mourinho Explosive as Ever in Latest Interview

Former Manchester United boss, Jose Mourinho claims he has turned down three job offers since being sacked and has rejected criticism of the Red...