Bangladesh will play the opening encounter of the Asia Cup against Sri Lanka beginning on September 15. The side have been hit with injuries. Senior player Shakib Al Hasan is suffering from a finger injury. Opener Tamim Iqbal also has a finger issue, and uncapped batsman Nazmul Hossain hurt his thumb during a recent training session in Dhaka. Monimul Haque who was a standby for Shakib has now been included in the squad, considering the injuries.

The 16-man squad for the Bangla Tigers includes:

Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, and Mominul Haque.

The probable 11 looks like this:

Openers: Tamim Iqbal and Liton Dash

Tamim is the team’s batting mainstay in the top order and has batted as the opener since 2016. But, the position of the second opener has been tinkered with at times. Now, the position will mostly be filled by Liton Das considering his recent performance against West Indies.

Top and Middle Order: Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Ariful Haque, and Mohammed Mithun

With number three regular Soumya Sarkar out of the squad, Shakib Al Hasan can fill in the number 3 position like he did in West Indies. Wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, who has a knack for scoring runs abroad, can be a stabilizing presence at no. 4. Mohammed Mithun will come in at 5 so as to accommodate Mahmudullah in the no. 6 position. Mahmudullah at 6  and Ariful at no. 7 fit the role of finishers for the side.

Bowlers: Mehedy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, and Rubel Hossain

Mashrafe and Mehedy Hasan are Bangladesh’s new ball bowlers and will take on the same role in UAE. Mustafizur, Mashrafe, and Rubel are more comfortable in the ODIs and will be able to adapt and use their variations.

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉