This year at the BCCI award ceremony on June 12, awards would be given out for the year: 2016-2017 and 2017-2018. Very popular names would be honored with awards this year, namely: Virat Kohli, Smriti Mandhana, and Harmanpreet Kaur. This event has garnered a lot of attention and several members the Committee of Administrators seemed to be excited about the occasion. Diana Edulji, who declined the lifetime achievement award due to her participation as an administrative member, talks about how she feels of this year’s events:

“This year we will be presenting awards for the past two seasons and it is going to be a big occasion ahead of the historic Test against Afghanistan. For the first time, an award category for the best International Cricketer (Woman) has been introduced and it is a step in the right direction,”

Chairman Vinod Rai of the CoA, also spoke about this award ceremony:

“The last two years have been fabulous for Indian Cricket with both the men and women’s teams doing very well. We are proud of their achievements and this is our small way of acknowledging their on-field efforts,”.

This year, Virat Kohli would be receiving the Polly Umrigar Award for the best international cricketers of both seasons: (2016-17) and (2017-18). This is a great win for Kohli as he would be receiving this honor four times in a row; having bagged the (2014-2015) and the (2015-2016) season’s awards. Clearly, Kohli deserves it, since his performance during the test matches has been exceptional. He had scored 1332 runs out of 13 matches for the (2016-2017) season. This year in a total of six test matches that he has played till now, he has scored 896 runs.

Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana would be the first ever women cricket players to receive the award for the best International Cricketer (Women) awards for the seasons (2016-2017) and (2017-2018) respectively. As Edulji mentions, Women’s cricket awards has successfully made its debut and a lot of people are looking forward to it. This would help gain a lot more attention towards women’s cricket and give them the limelight they deserve. Mandhana and Kaur have been crucial in getting India as the World Cup runner up’s last year would be getting an award to honor their efforts and a great game. Mandhana was easily scoring 90’s and 100’s in the Cup last year.

Punam Raut and Deepti Sharma would too be honored this year for their domestic performances. They would be handed the Jagmohan Dalmiya award. Sharma herself tweets on her success and joy!

Fans on Twitter too seem excited for it too, which is evident by their tweets!

BCCI President CK Khanna appears to be very happy with this event coming up “For BCCI, it is an opportunity to show its gratitude towards cricketers who enrich this game with their skills and hard work,”.


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉