Daryl Mitchell’s illegitimate dismissal gives way to another DRS controversy

HIGHLIGHTS

  • New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell was given out incorrectly by the third umpire exposing the faulty nature DRS.

  • With Mitchell’s wicket, New Zealand were reduced to 3 wickets down in the 6th over.

  • India went on defeat the hosts by a margin of 7 wickets in the 2nd T20I.


The Decision Review System or the DRS has been put under scrutiny yet again in the wake of last night’s incident at Auckland. New Zealand’s newest recruit Daryl Mitchell was on strike during the sixth over when Krunal Pandya, the bowler, along with the rest of the team appealed for an LBW. After being given out by the field umpire, the batsman immediately asked for a review because he was sure that he had edged the ball.

The batsman on strike had the full support of his captain, Kane Williamson, who was at the non-striker’s end. The decision was now directed to the third umpire who executed his basic scrutiny. After multiple replays of the Hotspot that suggested a clear edge, the third umpire finally resorted to the conventionally [more] reliable ‘Snickometer’. It suggested no movement when the ball went past Mitchell’s bat. Putting in faith for the Snicko, and keeping it above the hotspot- like many others- the third umpire declared the batsman out. 

Here’s the video: 

Also Read: 2nd T20I – As it happened

Reactions

The entire Cricket world was shocked by the decision. Even though the snicko suggests more reliability, denying the hotspot’s clear cut display of an edge was inexplicable. Experts like Harsha Bhogle have blamed the system, the DRS, and not the umpire. Players have had their opinion too. Ish Sodhi, in a post-match press conference, said that he was shocked by the decision. Captain Kane Williamson was furious after the decision was made. He expressed his disapproval of the decision on the field. But since the technology so widely used was at fault, the batsman had to walk.

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉