After England officially submitted their 23-man squad to FIFA, Jordan Pickford was given the England No 1 shirt for this summer’s World Cup in Russia. The 24-year-old made his third international appearance when he started the friendly match with  Nigeria on Saturday where they landed victory with 2-1. 

Pickford played the full 90 minutes in England’s 2-1 win over Nigeria at Wembley on Saturday in what was just his third England senior cap. “There was a bit of a statement with the selection of Jordan,” Southgate said. “His decision-making was good, although he was rarely tested,” he added.

The Everton goalkeeper looks likely to be Gareth Southgate’s first choice in Russia rather than Jack Butland and Nick Pope, who have been given the No 13 and 23 jerseys respectively. Captain Harry Kane, who wears number 10 at Tottenham, is given the number 9Raheem Sterling has been given the number 10 jersey while Dele Alli sticks with his Spurs squad number of 20.

Premier League-winner, Kyle Walker was given the shirt no. 2 while Danny Rose from Tottenham got 3.  Rose’s teammate Eric Dier was given 4 and John stones from Man City was given 5

Harry Maguire has been handed No.6 shirt, whereas Jesse Lingard has been handed 7. Champions League finalist Jordan Henderson of Liverpool was Handed the no. 8 shirt.

Trent-Alexander Arnold who is yet to play for his country has been handed the number 22 shirt and will be hoping to make his England debut in their final warm-up match against Costa Rica at Elland Road on Thursday. 

England World Cup squad numbers:

1 Jordan Pickford (Everton)

2 Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

3 Danny Rose (Tottenham)

4 Eric Dier (Tottenham)

5 John Stones (Manchester City)

6 Harry Maguire (Leicester)

7 Jesse Lingard (Manchester United)

8 Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

9 Harry Kane (captain, Tottenham)

10 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

11 Jamie Vardy (Leicester)

12 Kieran Trippier (Tottenham)

13 Jack Butland (Stoke)

14 Danny Welbeck (Arsenal)

15 Gary Cahill (Chelsea)

16 Phil Jones (Manchester United)

17 Fabian Delph (Manchester City)

18 Ashley Young (Manchester United)

19 Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

20 Dele Alli (Tottenham)

21 Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea)

22 Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

23 Nick Pope (Burnley)

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉