The West Indies squad for the first two one-day internationals against England has been announced. The side has a new face in Nicholas Pooran whereas the blaster Chris Gayle has made a comeback. The series will begin on February 20. 

Gayle last played an ODI almost six months back in July 2018. The 9-year old missed the limited-overs tour against India and Bangladesh in between. The uncapped Nicholas Pooran has been added in the 14-member squad for the first two ODIs against England. The 23-year-old wicket-keeper batsman has so far played eight Twenty20 Internationals for his country. He has scored 148 runs at an average of 24.66 and has a strike-rate of 152.57. Although Shannon Gabriel will not be a part of the series due to ‘workload’ concerns, Ashley Nurse will be seen after recovering from an injury he picked up during the ODIs against India.
Courtney Browne, the West Indies Chairman of Selectors, said the upcoming five-match ODI series against England will help the side to prepare for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 starting in May. 

Browne said, “As we continue our Cricket World Cup preparations, the upcoming series against the top-ranked ODI side is a great opportunity for us to gauge where we are as a team,” said Browne. “This allows us to identify any areas that need addressing relating to selection and also helps the coaching staff to fine tune their game strategy.”

Also Read: 6 memorable batting performances in IPL  

He added: “We welcome the return of Chris Gayle who missed the last two series and Ashley Nurse from injury. We are pleased to introduce Nicholas Pooran to the ODI squad for the first time. He is clearly a young player with undoubted talent and we believe he can add value to our middle order. 

Although Gabriel is out of the upcoming series against England, the Chairman ensured that he would be a part of the World Cup plans of the windies.

“Shannon Gabriel remains very much in our World Cup plans but with a heavy workload expected in the Test series he will be considered for selection later in the ODI series.”

Squad: Jason Holder (Captain), Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Oshane Thomas.


Leave a Reply to Shannon Gabriel suspended for sledging Joe Root Cancel reply