The twelfth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is going to start from March 23. The tournament has got immense appreciation all over the world. Since its beginning in 2008, the IPL has tried to be the bridge between the domestic circuit and international games. 

However, the tournament has the ability to attract the people and topmost players from all the countries, take part in the league. After having started well in the first two seasons of the IPL, the Delhi Daredevils which is renamed now Delhi Capitals’ journey in the IPL has many ups and downs. They haven’t won the title so far. 

Meanwhile, there are many sides like of Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad who can win the title this year. But Delhi Capitals has a balanced team this year who will be guided by the former Australia player Ricky Ponting and they can pose a big hurdle for the other teams.

However, these could be the reasons for Delhi Capitals’ win IPL 2019:

Stable opening pair

Image Source – Times Now

The left-hand opener of India, Shikhar Dhawan has returned to the team after eleven long years. He is the sixth highest run-getter in IPL history who had a great outing for Sunrises Hyderabad last year where he scored 497 runs at an average of 38.23.

On the other hand, it is Prithvi Shaw, the under-19 world cup winning captain and the new batting sensation of India. Shaw has already made his debut for the country in Tests against West Indies where he scored 237 runs in three innings at an average of 118.5.

Delhi had many openers, from Jason Roy, Mayank Agarwal, Quinton De Kock to Gautam Gambhir but they were not able to contribute much. Because of that, Delhi suffered a lot – be it run chasing or putting up scores on board.

This year, Shikhar Dhawan’s inclusion will provide extra strength to the batting line up. However, it is expected that he and Prithvi Shaw will play crucial roles in their side’s victory.

Long batting line up

Image Source –

Along with Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw, Delhi has a strong batting line this year. Under-19 World Cup winning team’s opener Manjot Kalra, India’s wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Colin Munro are there to strengthen the middle-order. 

Shreyas Iyer amassed 411 runs in 14 matches while Rishabh Pant smashed 684 runs in 14 matches in the last season. Both of them have been in great form and they will try to continue their form this year as well. Apart from them, they have Chris Morris also; who is a wonderful all-rounder. His inclusion not only helps them in batting but in bowling as well.

Sufficient death bowlers

Image Source –

It says that T20 is a batsman’s game but if you want to win then you must have experienced death over bowlers in your team. Like the other teams, Delhi too has a strong bowling unit also. They have some renowned bowlers from all over the world, like Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult, Chris Morris, Sandeep Lamichhane, and Amit Mishra etc.

All of the above bowlers are able to take wickets in the crucial time as well as they have the ability to stop the run-flow. Now, only time can tell whether Delhi can win the title with these aggressive batsmen and experienced bowlers or will IPL 2019 be just another season for them.

Also Read: Top 3 contenders of IPL 2019


  1. One of the best articles I have read in a long time. The writer is highly talented and is destined to be a great in the field of writing

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉