IPL Season 12 is around the corner and everyone has already started talking about the big battle amongst the Titans once again. 

While counting days for IPL let’s have a throwback to the most memorable batting performances of Indian Premier League till date.


McCullum Began The Show

Brendon McCullum gave the perfect start to IPL when he recorded the first century of Indian Premier League in the very first match of IPL season one in 2008. He scored a blistering 100 from just 53 deliveries and remained unbeaten on 158 off 73 balls. His innings included 13 sixes and 10 boundaries. It was just a matter of time for Kolkata Knight Riders and they won the match against Royal Challengers Bangalore by 142 runs.


Then Appeared The Pathan

Yusuf Pathan
Image Credit: BCCI

During a match of IPL 2010, after a daunting total of 212 by Mumbai Indian, Rajasthan Royals were struggling at 66 for 4 in 9.2overs. Yousuf Pathan appeared on the occasion to change the course of the game. He smashed 100 off 37 balls with 9 fours and 8 sixes. It was for him that Rajasthan almost won the match but Yusuf got run out suddenly and Rajasthan lost the match by 4 runs only. His gripping innings took all the attention and he was awarded the man of the match despite his team losing the match.


Devastating Gayle

During IPL 2013 Chris Gayle played an incredible knock when RCB had won the toss and opted to bat first. Gayle scored the fasted Twenty 20 hundred in just 30 balls and scored unbeaten 175 off 66 balls. Royal Challengers Bangalore put a mammoth target of 263 for Pune Warriors. It was also the highest individual T20 score that included 17 sixes and 13 fours. After Gayle’s blast and destructive batting, it was an easy match for RCB and they won it by a huge margin of 130 runs. and posted 263/5 in 20 overs.


Sorted Raina

Image Credit: © IANS

The deciding match between CSK and KXIP at Wankhede stadium in IPL 2014 saw a mesmerizing century from Virender Sehwag that helped Kings XI Punjab to score a mammoth 226 in 20 overs. While chasing with the required run rate of 11 at the start of innings, Chennai Super Kings seemed to lost the match after losing their first wicket in the very first over.  Then came Raina; and scored an incredible 87 off just 25 balls in the first six overs. His innings included 12 fours and 6 sixes. The game suddenly seemed very easy for CSK but they lost the match after losing Raina’s wicket.


Manish, The Anchor

Image Credit: BCCI

In IPL 2014 finale Kings XI Punjab scored 199 runs in 20 overs with an unbeaten 115 off just 55 balls from their wicketkeeper-batsman Wrisshiman Saha. In reply, Kolkata Knight Riders came to chase their second IPL title and lost their dependable bat Robin Uthappa in the first over. Gautam Gambhir and Manish Pandey took the charge and added 53 runs partnership for the second wicket. Gambhir was dismissed for 23 but it didn’t affect Manish’s momentum. He continued to play the role of an anchor while losing his partners at regular intervals. He scored 91 off just 50 balls to ensure KKR’s second IPL victory.


Unstoppable Virat Kohli

Image Credit: BCCI

Virat Kohli has played for only one franchise since the inception of IPL when he was picked up as U-19 star by Royal Challengers Bangalore, just after leading U-19 Indian cricket team to a world cup win. In next 11 seasons he had many memorable performances for the team but definitely, the highlight was 2016 season where he scored 973 runs with four hundreds. His 113 against KXIP is his highest T20 score and a phenomenal effort. In a rain-curtailed match, the pressure was on Kohli and Gayle to make a total which should not be too easy for the chasing team. What followed was absolute carnage, when Kohli reached his 100 in 47 balls, with 12 fours and 8 sixes. RCB reached 211 in 15 overs with the run rate touching 14 runs per over.



Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉