Australia had a successful cricketing year. Pat Cummins earned his first Allan Border medal at the award ceremony where Glenn Maxwell bagged the T20I honour for the second time at Australian Cricket Awards. 

Pat Cummins has been awarded the Allan Border medalist at the Australian Cricket Awards in Melbourne. In a controversial period of Australian Cricket where the ball-tampering issue and Steven Smith, David Warner, and Cameron Bancroft’s suspension were included, that certainly affected Australia’s performance.

Cummins, who played a crucial part in Australia’s performance, bagged 44 wickets across all formats. Cummins got 156 votes, Lyon 150, and Finch 146 in their voting period of 9th January 2018, to 7th January 2019. Since 2014, Cummins became the only player other than Steve Smith and David Warner, has won the award for the first time.

During this period, Australia had tours in several countries like South Africa, England, Zimbabwe, and UAE. Australia played One Day International series against England after the 2018-19 Ashes. Later they have played T20 tri-series which followed the home series against India and the ODIs against South Africa.

Women’s wicketkeeper-batter Alyssa Healy had a stupendous year. In six One-Day Internationals, Healy smashed 329 runs at an average of 54.83. She has scored 225 runs at an average of 56.25 and guided Australia to win their fourth World T20 trophy in 2018. Her outstanding performance earned her the Best Female Player of the Year. She has won the Belinda Clark medal for the first time. Along with this, she was awarded the ODI as well as the T20 player of the year at the Australian Cricket Awards.

Also Read: 5 standout players in the Women’s WT20

Meanwhile, Nathan Lyon, Marcus Stoinis, and Glenn Maxwell were named Australia’s Test, ODI and T20I players of the year respectively.

Experienced Nathan Lyon was awarded the ‘Test Cricketer of the Year’ for his eye-catching performances. He was the leading wicket-taker with 49 wickets in 10 Tests. Marcus Stoinis, who has 376 runs at an average of 28.92 and 13 scalps in 13 ODIs won the ‘ODI Cricketer of the Year’.

However, Glenn Maxwell played Australia’s 19 T20Is where he scored 506 runs at a strike-rate of 143.75 and bagged nine wickets at an economy of 7.59. He was awarded the ‘T20 Player of the Year’. He had won the award in 2015 as well.

Tasmania’s wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade was awarded the ‘Men’s Domestic Player of the Year’ while Heather Graham earned the Best Domestic Player in the Women’s category. Will Pucovski was named for the ‘Don Bradman Award for the Best ‘Young Male Cricketer’ while Georgia Wareham earned the ‘Betty Wilson Award’ for the Best Young Female Cricketer of the Year.

Here is the full list of the winners

Male One-Day International Player of the Year: Marcus Stoinis

Female One Day International Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Georgia Wareham

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Will Pucovski

Male Test Player of the Year: Nathan Lyon

Community Champion Award: Moises Henriques

Female Domestic Player of the Year: Heather Graham

Male Domestic Player of the Year: Matthew Wade

Female Twenty20 International Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy

Male Twenty20 International Player of the Year: Glenn Maxwell

Belinda Clark Award: Alyssa Healy

Allan Border Medal: Pat Cummins

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉