Two new baggy greens are set to be given out as opener Marcus Harris and fast-bowler Chris Tremain earn maiden call-ups for the upcoming Test series against India. Matt Renshaw hasn’t earned a place in the Test squad yet again. 

The maiden Test series for Marcus Harris and Chris Tremain will also be Australia’s first home series since Steve Smith and David Warner were banned due to the sandpaper-gate. 

India is currently touring Australia and so far have played one T20I. The Aaron Finch led Australian team managed a 4-run victory(DLS) against India on November 21. The Test series will start in December before which there are two remaining T20Is to be played. The first Test match that is scheduled to be played at the Adelaide Oval starts on December 6. The second Test match will be played at Perth and will commence on December 14. 

While Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, and Travis Head have retained their places, Matt Renshaw, Marnus Labuschagne, all-rounder Michael Neser and fast bowlers Jon Holland and Brendan Doggett have all been dropped. Usman Khawaja has apparently recovered from his knee injury which he had acquired during the series against Pakistan. He underwent an operation and after being declared fit has been incorporated in the squad. 

Peter Handscomb who was dropped during the Pakistan series has been called back into the squad for India series. The two new recruits, Harris and Tremain forced their way into the 14-man squad with the help of exceptional performances in the domestic front.


“Marcus Harris has forced his way into the squad after an impressive start to the Sheffield Shield campaign for Victoria,” said Australia’s head selector Trevor Hohns.


Marcus Harris is an opener, who has scored 437 runs this shield season at 87.4 with the highest score of 250 which he scored for Victoria, against New South Wales last month. Harris will open the batting for Tim Paine-led Australia with Aaron Finch who made his Test debut recently against Pakistan. Chris Tremain is a fast bowler who has taken 24 wickets at 20.45 this season of Sheffield Shield and has also been consistently productive for multiple seasons of late. 


“We will select a final team of 12 prior to each Test, and the two remaining squad members will be released to get important match time in the Sheffield Shield,” Hohns added.



The Australian squad for first-two Tests vs India: Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood (Vice Captain), Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh (Vice Captain), Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine (Captain), Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Chris Tremain


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉