Glenn Maxwell scored a brilliant 113* off 55 and helped Australia to win the second T20I as well as the series against India in Bangalore by seven runs. 

Put into bat, India got a slow start at the beginning. But KL Rahul soon changed the situation. He hit a boundary between point and cover region of Behrendorff in the third over. Then, Dhawan too joined in the league and hit a boundary and the runs started coming easily.

India soon reached to 39 by the end of the fifth over because of KL Rahul’s consecutive sixes off Richardson’s bowling. He did exactly the same in the next over to Pat Cummins’ deliveries. On the back of his heroics, India reached to 53 by the end of the powerplay.

However, this didn’t last long. Rahul got dismissed in eighth over when he was trying to steer a slower delivery over the third man but ended up giving a soft catch to Richardson off the bowling of Coulter-Nile. He scored 47 off 26. His dismissal brought Kohli on the crease. Dhawan too was struggling from the starting of his innings and dismissed for 14 off 24. Soon Rishabh Pant too followed him in the pavilion.

However, Kohli and Dhoni started to build a partnership. They started dealing with the boundaries and that eventually helped India to score 91 runs in the final six overs. Dhoni targeted Short’s bowling as he smashed 24 runs off just nine balls in total. At the other end, Kohli was hit three consecutive sixes off Coulter-Nile in the 16th over, through long-off and over deep midwicket respectively.

Adam Zampa tried to restrict the run flow in the 17th over and conceded just three runs. However, Dhoni took on Short for a boundary and two sixes in the 18th over, Kohli hit the seamers in the final two overs and guided India to put up 190 on board after 20 overs.

Chasing 191, Australia lost their opener Marcus Stoinis very cheaply off Siddarth Kaul. Stoinis bowled for 7 runs in the third over. In the very next over, Vijay Shankar dismissed Aaron Finch for 8 runs and Australia were reduced to 22/2.

But it was Glenn Maxwell and D’arcy Short’s partnership which did the main damage in India’s bowling line-up. Glenn Maxwell and D’arcy Short started to steady the ship and added 73 runs in seven overs before Short got dismissed in the 12th over by Vijay Shankar after scoring 40 off 28.

Peter Handscomb joined Maxwell in the middle and both of them again tried to steady the ship. However, Maxwell chose Krunal Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal for big hitting and hit back to back boundaries and over-boundaries. He reached his 50 in 32 balls and took only 18 balls to reach the century. He took a single in the first ball of the 19th over and completed his century.

Australia needed fourteen runs off the last two overs where Bumrah bowled the penultimate over. In the last over, Australia needed 9 runs to win and Kaul was handed over the responsibility but Maxwell continued his momentum on, hit a six and a boundary and finished the game in style within four balls.

Brief score:

India 190/4 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli 72, MS Dhoni 40; Jason Behrendorff 1-17) lost to Australia 194/3 in 19.4 overs (Glenn Maxwell 113*, D’Arcy Short 40; Vijay Shankar 2-38) by seven wickets.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma top 5 ODI innings


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉