Mumbai Indians achieved a rare feat in their game against Rajasthan Royals. They became the first team to play 200 T20 games. 

Rohit Sharma-led the franchise in Indian Premier League (IPL) surpassed the English county side Somerset, who has played 199 T20 matches and one short to reach 200. Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title three times in 2013, 2015 and 2017. Apart from Mumbai Indians, MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings is the only other IPL franchise who has won the IPL title thrice.

Along with Mumbai, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are the other two IPL franchises that feature in the top five teams with the most number of T20 games. Hampshire are placed at third with 194 T20 games while RCB are currently in the fourth spot with 188 T20s. Two teams are in the fifth spot, they are KKR and Sussex with 187 games.

Meanwhile, earlier this month Mumbai Indians achieved another milestone when they became the first team to win 100 matches in the history of Indian Premier League. That feat came when they won against the defending champion Chennai Super Kings at home.

Also Read: The Fantasy Guide for KKR vs CSK

Not only these, but Mumbai also has a few more other records. Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma is the third highest run-getter in the history of IPL. He has amassed 4658 runs so far with a strike rate of 130.95 from 179 matches. He has scored 34 half-centuries and a century and hit more than 400 boundaries and 187 over-boundaries till date. The first spot belongs to Virat Kohli; who has scored 5218 runs and Suresh Raina is in the second place with 5121 runs.

Their pace spearhead Lasith Malinga is the highest wicket-taker in the history of IPL. He has bagged 157 wickets in 113 matches so far. His best figure is 5 for 13 which came against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in 2011.

Apart from these two, Mumbai Indians are the only team who has the record of highest and smallest victories in IPL so far. In 2017, Mumbai Indians put up 212 runs against Daredevils and restricted their opponents within 66 on board, registering a 146-run win which became the largest ever victory so far. 

On the other hand, they lost to Punjab by 1 run in the inaugural season of the IPL. Punjab scored 189 runs in 20 overs while Mumbai were bowled out for 188. Thus they become the first ever team to have both the records.

However, yesterday, earlier in the game against Rajasthan, Mumbai Indians were asked to bat first after losing the toss. Openers Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock got off to a flying start with a strong 96-run partnership of the 10.5 overs. Later a quickfire 28 off 11 by Hardik Pandya powered them to 187 after 20 overs.

Chasing the target, Rajasthan started pretty well as the openers Ajinkya Rahane and Joss Buttler added 60 runs in 6.2 overs before Rahane’s dismissal. Later, Buttler and Sanju Samson added 87 runs before Buttler’s dismissal. Buttler smashed a 43-ball 89, including eight boundaries and seven sixes. But a sudden wicket fall left them struggling at 174-6. Then Shreyas Gopal’s 7-ball 13 got the side past the line by four wickets.

Mumbai started their 2019 IPL journey with a 37-run loss against Delhi Capitals before winning by six runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Then they lost one game and won three games in their next four matches and again lost to Rajasthan in the last game and placed at the third position in the points table of Indian Premier League 2019 with eight points.


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉