The month-long South African Twenty20 Super League started on 16th November. The Mzansi Super League 2018 is the inaugural version of the super league is set to feature big names in its course.

The Mzansi Super League is Cricket South Africa’s best chance to make it big in the league front. The six teams that are supposed to take part in the contest are Durban Heat, Jozi Stars, Paarl Rocks, Cape Town Blitz, Tshwane Spartans, and Nelson Mandela Bay Giants. A total of 32 matches are scheduled to be played, the last of which will be held on December 16. Both playoffs, including the Final, will be D/N matches.



October 17, 2018: An players’ draft took place on with more than 200 international players being a part of the calculation.

October 18, 2018: It was announced that Global Sports Commerce (GSC) would be the official international commercial and broadcast partner from 2018 up to 2022.

October 30, 2018: The remunerations for the Mzansi Super League 2018 champions was announced. The champions will receive a prize money of 7 million and the runners-up will receive 2.5 million. 



The biggest name of the lot would be Abraham Benjamin de Villiers who retired from all forms of international cricket earlier this year. He, however, promised to prolong his career in the league formats of the game. He’ll also be a part of the IPL next year. AB de Villiers will lead the Tshwane Spartans side. 

Durban Heat: Albie Morkel

Jozi Stars: Dane Vilas

Paarl Rocks: Faf du Plessis (Right-hand batsman Henry Davids will lead the side for the two matches in which du Plessis is supposed to be away).

Cape Town Blitz: Farhaan Behardien

Tshwane Spartans: AB de Villers

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: Jon-Jon Smuts



All 32 matches of he Mzansi Super League will be exclusively broadcasted live by the SABC on SABC 3 in the sub-Saharan region and by Sony Entertainment Network in India and the sub-continent region. 


Voices in the commentary box:

Pakistan’s Aamir Sohail will lead a commentary team containing 17 top names for the Mzansi Super League with starts on Friday, November 16. Joining the legendary Pakistani opener in the commentary box would be familiar names like  Dominic Cork from England and Zimbabwe’s Alistair Campbell. The South African, the local and internationally familiar names would be Lance Klusener, Paul Harris, Andre Nel, and Monde Zondeki.

Taking the charge of the dressing room analysis would be Jean-Paul Duminy. From the domestic scene, men joining the commentary box will be- Ahmed Amla (in Durban), Justin Kreusch (Port Elizabeth) and Nono Phongolo (Gauteng). 

Purely South African trusted voices of Kass Naidoo, Natalie Germanos, Mluleki Ntsabo, and Udo Carelse will be a part as well.  Katlego Maboe and Graeme Richards are the Television personalities adding richness to the comm box.


Starter Fixtures:

November 16: Cape Town Blitz v Tshwane Spartans, Newlands (7 pm)

November 17: Jozi Stars v NMB Giants, Wanderers (7 pm)

November 18: Durban Heat v CT Blitz, Kingsmead (11 am)

November 18: Paarl Rocks v Tshwane Spartans, Paarl (3.30 pm)

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉