New Zealand is set to make its comeback into international cricket after a long hiatus of 8 months. The New Zealand tour of Pakistan commences today October 31, 2018. The two teams will face each other in three T20Is followed by three ODIs and three Tests. 


The first of the three T20Is is scheduled today at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. 



The Teams:


The Pakistan team recently defeated Australia 3-0 in a T20I series under captain Sarfraz Ahmed. They’ve consecutively won 10 T20I series and have built a rare hold around it. Defeating the number one ranked team in T20Is was like icing on the cake. Injured Fakhar Zaman did not make it to the squad. 

Pakistan:  Babar Azam, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed(w/c), Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan



Players to look out for:

Babar Azam has been the best player for Pakistan in this format this year. Newly turned the father of a baby boy, Shoaib Malik will lead the middle order along with Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim. The bowlers to look out for are Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, and Usman Khan, given to the conditions in UAE. 



The Blackcaps will be playing without their best limited-overs batsmen Martin Guptill. Mike Hesson isn’t their coach anymore. Gary Stead got the role a few months after New Zealand had made their last international appearance. All-rounder Corey Anderson will make his comeback and Glenn Philips will open the batting, besides keeping wickets, in Guptill’s absence. 

New Zealand: Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips (wicketkeeper), Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Mark Chapman, Corey Anderson, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ajaz Patel, Lockie Ferguson



Players to look out for: 

Colin Munro, who had a very good season in the T20 leagues has set his eyes on the World Cup. Kane Williamson had a very good season at the IPL this year. With Corey Anderson making a comeback, the middle order will be taken care of. As per the bowling, the good old Tim Southee will lead the attack and along with him, Milne’s pace could do the magic for New Zealand.

Schedule for T20Is: 

Time: 9:30 PM(on all days)

1st T20I October 31: Pakistan vs New Zealand at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi
2nd T20I November 02: Pakistan vs New Zealand at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai
3rd T20I November 04: Pakistan vs New Zealand at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉