India will play five ODIs in New Zealand starting from January 23

After the ODIs are done, the two teams will play each other in a three-match T20I series

India have added the 19-year-old Shubman Gill to their squad

Jimmy Neesham and Tim Seifert ruled out, Santner and Latham come back 

After a historic bilateral triumph in Australia, the Indian team next conquest lies in New Zealand. India now have a five-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series ahead of themselves. The last time India toured New Zealand for an ODI series was in the 2013/2014 season. The 5-match ODI series had resulted in a 4-0 victory for the home team. The best India could do was secure a tie in the third ODI game. The Kiwis are currently ranked third in ODis would look forward to jumping ahead of India by the end of the series. The visitors would want to carry on with their winning streak and also improve their winning record in New Zealand.

Form in the last five ODIs

New Zealand: W-W-W-W-W

India: W-W-L-W-W

Win/Loss record:

India have a terrible winning record in New Zealand in the 50-over format. Out of 34 matches played India have won 10 and lost 21. While one match had resulted in a Tie, a couple of matches ended with No Result.

India News: MS Dhoni played a vital role in India’s win over Australia in the third ODI at the MCG. He played at No. 4 and scored an unbeaten 87 runs. But India is still looking for a stable No.4 batsman. Shubhman Gill could be the power hitter India has been looking for and would definitely be given a chance in the playing XI during the ODI series. Captain Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will lead the batting. While India still don’t have Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvi and Shami are expected to do their bit as they did in Australia.

Also Read: Areas of concern for India

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Shubman Gill

New Zealand News: Mitchell Santner will return to ODIs after a long hiatus due to his injury. Tom Latham has been brought out of rest and will overtake the wicket-keeping duty from Tim Seifert. Trent Boult and Tim Southee will be leading the pace attack as usual. All-rounder responsibilities might be taken up by Colin de Grandhomme or Doug Bracewell. The home team could also go for the third pacer option with Matt Henry/Lockie Ferguson and place one spinner, either Mitchell Santner or Ish Sodhi. The batting will be led by three of New Zealand’s best- Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, and Martin Guptill.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉