After a series of triumphs for India, in the longer format, the focus is back on T20 International Cricket. India emerged victorious overall in Australia and also thrashed New Zealand by a margin of 4-1 in the recently concluded ODI series. 

The teams couldn’t extract a result in the T20I series in Australia, but India have set their eyes like a hawk on the upcoming T20I series in NZ. The hosts, on the other hand, will eye redemption in the T20I series. The Blackcaps will need to prove themselves in the T20I rubber in order to make up for the 1-4 loss in the ODI series.

Even though the Twenty20 format is a cut short variation of ODIs, it involves different tactics and strategies. So NZ will have the chance to start afresh without lurking behind due to defeats of the recent past. India would want to continue their winning spree. The wounds have hopefully healed for the hosts. They face India in the first T20I in Wellington tomorrow on February 6.

New Zealand’s top order in ODI was one of the main reasons behind their failure in the ODI series. The frontline batsmen couldn’t make as much impact when facing India’s well-armed bowling unit. But the story isn’t the same with regards to the shortest format. Martin Guptill won’t feature in the T20I series due to injury. NZ chose Jimmy Neesham as his replacement. The opening department would be led by Colin Munbro who is an expert in this format even though he failed in the ODI series.

On the other hand, the visiting Indian side would have the confidence and energy carried forward from the ODI victory. India has been consistently winning throughout all formats since their 1-4 defeat in the Test series against England last year. New Zealand lost 3-0 to Pakistan in the T20I series held in November last year. But comfortably defeated Sri Lanka in all formats after that.

Also Read: Predicted XI for the first T20

The visitors look all set even in the absence of Virat Kohli. Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team, just like in the last couple of ODIs. Shubhman Gill might secure the 3rd spot in this scenario. The bowling department is also set in the absence of Jasprit Buumrah. Spin duo Kuldeep Yadav- Yuzvendra Chahal will try to choke the hosts as they did in the 50-over format.


New Zealand vs India, 1st T20I, Feb 06, 08:00 PM local time, 12:30 AM IST

New Zealand vs India, 2nd T20I, Feb 08, 07:00 PM local time, 11:30 AM IST

New Zealand vs India, 3rd T20I, Feb 10, 08:00 PM local time, 12:30 AM IST


Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Pitch and conditions: The Westpac stadium offers swing to the pacers. Chase is generally preferred in this ground. 

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson(captain), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, James Neesham

India Squad: Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya

Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉