The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was announced earlier this year where Pep Guardiola’s side dominated the sheet, rightfully because of their individual and team performances this season. Let’s take a look at the eleven players who made it and analyse how they earned their place in this elite team.

Goalkeeper: David De Gea (Manchester United)

De Gea had a terrific season with the club this season as he helped United finish second earning applauds from critics as well as fans. The recipient of the Premier League Golden Glove this season held the league highest of 18 clean sheets and is the only player from Manchester United to earn a place in this team.

Right-back: Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Kyle Walker finally achieved his dream to win the Premier League after near misses in his former team Tottenham Hotspur. The English International got a big-money move to City from Spurs last summer and was a regular in Guardiola’s side making 32 appearances and putting in 6 assists for the team.

Centre-back: Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham)

Tottenham skipper Jan Vertonghen has featured in 36 games for the club making 64 tackles, 60 interceptions, and 170 clearances. The Belgian International was a rock at the centre of Tottenham’s defence last season and had to make up for Davinson Sanchez’s inexperience and Toby Alderwierald’s injury prone season, rightfully earning a place in this team.

Centre-back: Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City) 

Nicolas Otamendi played a huge role in the defensive side on City’s title-winning campaign last season. The 30-year old Argentinian made 34 appearances scoring 4 goals and making numerous defensive contributions; 58 tackles, 48 interceptions and 122 clearances; he also made 3,074 passes which is the 2nd highest in the league.

Left-back — Marcos Alonso (Chelsea) 

Marcos Alonso is a left-back who is more than capable of contributing to the attacking side of the team and he showed that this season by scoring 7 goals and assisting another 2 in 33 games. Chelsea had a relatively poor season which was not expected from the previous champions but Alonso certainly gave his best for the club which has earned him a spot on this team.

Centre Midfield: David Silva (Manchester City)

Fan favorite midfield maestro David Silva had one of his best seasons yet scoring 9 goals and assisting 11 in his 29 appearances. The 32-year old Premier League veteran was apparently going through some personal problems but he overcame them proving to be a vital asset in City’s campaign last season.

Centre Midfield: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

The best player in City’s 100-point campaign last season was none other than Premier League Play-maker of the Year, Kevin De Bruyne. The Belgian superstar featured in 37 games scoring 8 goals and holding a league-high record of 16 assists and was the key to City’s successful campaign this season. 

Centre Midfield: Christian Eriksen (Tottenham)

With 10 goals and 10 assists, Eriksen is one of the few players to reach double figures in both goals and assists count this season. Often regarded as one of the most underrated midfielders in the world, The Danish play-maker was an important figure in Tottenham’s squad.

Right-Forward: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

PFA Player of the Year, Mohamed Salah has finished this season as one of Premier League’s greatest ever as set a new record of League’s highest goals scored in a season, 32 and made 10 assists as well. The Egyptian winger made history and his spot on this team is quite literally untouchable.

Left-Forward: Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)

One of the most prolific strikers in the Premier League or rather the world has ever seen had yet another productive season with 21 goals and 6 assists in just 25 matches. Year after year Sergio Agüero proves himself as one of the best in the world without even a hint of slowing down.

Centre-Forward: Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Newly appointed England Captain and the hero of all the Spurs fans around the world, Harry Kane has played his most prolific season yet scoring 30 goals in 37 games. The 24-year striker old still has the whole world at his feet and is undoubtedly regarded as one of the world’s best.


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉