Rohit Sharma becomes the leading Twenty20 International run scorer surpassing Martin Guptill, the Kiwi batter previously held the record. The stand-in skipper has achieved this feat in the second T20I against New Zealand at Auckland. 

Although Rohit was dismissed for a 29-ball fifty, he went on to break quite a few records before heading back towards the pavilion.

Rohit Sharma is now the all-time leading T20I run-getter with 2,279 runs in 92 matches. The list includes names like Martin Guptill from New Zealand (2,272), Shoaib Malik from Pakistan (2,263), Indian skipper Virat Kohli(2,167) and another Kiwi batter McCullum(2,140) in the top five.

Rohit Sharma is the third most six hitters in T20I with102 sixes. Chris Gayle and Martin Guptill both have 103. Currently, he is also just the third cricketer to hit 100 T20I sixes after Gayle and Guptill. Overall he stands at the fourth position in the list of most six hitters in International cricket now. He has 349 with Sanath Jayasuriya (352), Brendon McCullum (398), Shahid Afridi and Chris Gayle (476), ahead of him. This also helped him to cross MS Dhoni for the Indian record of most number of International sixes.

Also Read: Interesting facts about Rohit Sharma 

Although the Indian opener had a failure in the first T20I match against New Zealand in the ongoing series, he came back strong in the second one. His 50 off 29 balls crafted with three fours and four sixes gave India the momentum to chase 159. He remained the highest run scorer for India in this match with Rishab Pant scoring 28-ball 40 and a cameo of 17- ball 20 from the veteran Dhoni. Finally, India managed to level the series and are looking forward to another triumph in the last T20I against the Blackcaps on February 10 at Hamilton.


Comment below! The best comment is in for a surprise 😉